skip to Main Content

Faculty Guidebook

The mission of the John A. Burns School of Medicine, Department of Surgery is to provide a collegial environment for education, innovative research, and outstanding clinical programs.

Department of Surgery 4 C’s:

  • Communicate
  • Collaborate
  • Contribute
  • Cooperate

Mission and Vision Statements and Surgery’s Strategic Plan


Division Chiefs

  • Anesthesia: Jason Isa, M.D.
  • Critical Care/Research: David Inouye, M.D.
  • General Surgery: Dean Mikami, M.D.
  • Emergency Medicine: Gregory Suares, M.D.
  • Neurosurgery: William Obana, M.D.
  • Opthalmology: Greg Kokame, M.D.
  • Orthopedics: Kyle Mitsunaga, M.D.
  • Otolaryngology: Daniel Alam, M.D.
  • Pediatric Surgery: Walton Shim, M.D.
  • Plastic Surgery: F. Don Parsa, M.D.
  • Radiology: Joan Kendall, M.D.
  • Thoracic/CV: Peter Tsai, M.D.
  • Transplant: Alan Cheung, M.D.
  • Urology: D. Gary Lattimer, M.D.
  • Vascular: Elna Masuda, M.D.

Faculty Expectations

Administrative Services Division

1. Handbooks: Must adhere to policies and procedures by all employers regardless of your main employer.

2. Training

3. Other Information

Back To Top